Chemo Mouth

Grr. Imagine all your taste buds float away to cancer hell and you are stuck with everything tasting like cardboard. Oh, that includes water. Yep. Sucks. So I decided that I’m going to just try to get through the next couple months without losing another 20 pounds and then binge out on my favorite food. Most chemo patients suggest avoiding your favorite foods during the chemo process so they aren’t a turn off after you get your taste buds back. 

First stop, Chicago. If I could eat in any city for the rest of my life it would be this place. The Chicago Pizza and Oven Grinder is my number one go to place. It holds a special place in my heart as well, my husband proposed to me there. 

Heaven on a plate. They also have an amazing salad, dressing, and flatbread. I will gain ten pounds that night at dinner. I can already taste it. There is also a burger place that I have to find again, it was years ago. The Art of Pizza is always a good spot. There is Francesca’s, are they still good? Anyway, I am also excited to try s good steak house. Any Chicago restaurant suggestions would be appreciated. 

I’m loving the Kansas City food scene too. My favorite place is Osteria Il Centro and that will be my very first stop on list. 
If you haven’t been then you are missing out. Best place in Kansas City. Fact. Then there is JJ’s on the plaza, Strouds Northland, Pig Witch, Garozzo’s, Bristol, and 715 in Lawrence. 

I make this list to look forward to something. I miss food tasting like food. I miss carbs. I miss wine. We will be together soon again. 

This entry was posted in Cancer, Food & Drink and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

