First Chemotherapy Treatment

One down, five more to go!!! Yesterday was a very long and boring day but I also expected that. I guess uneventful is a good thing while undergoing a chemotherapy treatment. They have me hopped up on a bunch of steroids so I’m not feeling much of anything except a little dry mouth. Chemo consists of a lab draw to make sure my blood work is okay for treatment, a quick chat with my oncologist Dr. Qamar Kahn and his NP Stephanie, then off to the infusions. Yesterday was long day because it was my first day. Lots of pre drug infusions and then the four infusions. Everything went as planned and have no side effects right away. 

So, Game of Thrones is a very sick and twisted show and I LOVE it. Went through the entire first season and couldn’t stop watching it. It was a great suggestion, although I have to cover my eyes throughout many of the scenes. Keep other suggestions coming as well as books. 

We have such a great network surrounding us and I’m trying to respond to every message and text I get so bare with me. I might not respond in the evening because I’m trying to give my full attention to the my family by limiting the cell phone. I know everyone is wanting to help right now and we are still trying to figure everything out. At this point we are not needing meals made for us. My appetite has been next to nothing and I’m on a restricted diet of some sorts and Matt can’t eat an entire pan of lasagna by himself. What is helpful are gift cards to Price Chopper, Whole Foods, or Sprouts. We are trying to figure out some sort of donation to Mini Adventures, the girls preschool, so I don’t have to use any vacation time until I need it for my surgery. The preschool is one of my major expenses right now and with all the time I have been off it might take a little stress off my plate. It’s been hard to ask for help and I will try to do better but I don’t like to burden people with my problems. 

Thank you and we appreciate your continued love and support. 

This entry was posted in Cancer, Friendships, Marriage, My Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Chemotherapy Treatment

  1. Krista Lane says:

    You are so strong to share your story! You know I’m off every day in the summer and would love to keep the girls whenever I can, so you guys save money by not sending them. My girls would LOVE it! You have my number. 💞

  2. Gigi Grover says:

    Saw my brother liked your post, so I read your blog. I will be having my third chemo next Thursday (every three weeks). You hit the nail on the head – first lasted from 7:45am to 5:45pm. Long day, but hopefully the beginning of the end of this disease that has taken over my life. Prayers that you get through the chemo quickly and it’s a very positive outcome! Take care of yourself. Others will understand when you need your “you” time.

  3. Brent Selders says:

    Thinking of you, Colleen! Stay strong and keep us updated please!

Leave a Reply

