The Diagnosis

So it’s been two years since my last post. I can never finish anything, ever. I’ve decided to start up the blog again to keep everyone informed on my upcoming battle. On Friday, June 17th I was diagnosed with breast cancer. Many of you know that my sister and mother were both diagnosed last year and have both beat it. So I guess it’s my turn. Girl not scared.

I have so many different emotions. I’m incredibly angry that I didn’t push my breast doctor last year into a double mastectomy. I’m angry because I get screened every six months with a mammogram or a MRI and I still found a lump. I’m scared for my two little girls and my niece. I’m kind of scared to lose my hair. And I’m really pissed that I can’t drink while doing chemotherapy.  I feel confident that I will beat this and it won’t the only thing I do in my life. It will be a long road but hopefully it will go quickly and I won’t have to worry about getting breast cancer and every mammogram.

We have meet with a number of doctors at Menorah Medical Center and the KU Cancer Center and we have decided to go with KU Cancer Center for oncology. Both hospitals have been amazing and very informing and I would have incredible care at either place. I have what they call Triple Positive Breast Cancer, positive for Estrogen Receptor (ER), Projesterone Receptor (PR), and HER-2. The tumor is right under my left armpit and has traveled to 3 or more lymph nodes so they say I’m Stage 3. So the plan is chemo, surgery, and then we are planning on radiation. The good news is that my team of doctors is VERY confident that the chemo and antibody therapy will target those lymph nodes and tumor. We start a chemotherapy on Tuesday, July 6th and will continue every three weeks for a total of 6 infusions. Not so bad, I feel like it will go fast and October 18th is just around the corner.

If chemotherapy does it’s job then the next step is surgery. Surgery will determine if if we do radiation or not. If the lymph nodes are still positive with any cancer cells we will do 6 weeks of radiation (sounds like the worst part of this whole deal). We are already meeting with plastic surgeons to get the surgery set up and on the books.

Many of you have asked about the genetics. Both my sister and mother were tested and negative for the BRCA genes so I was not tested at that time. Today I was tested for a bigger panel of genetic genes or mutations and should get the results in 10 days or so. If we still can’t find answers we will look into a research study they are offering and apply. The research study could take years to complete but any answers will be welcomed. I hope that my children and niece never have to go through this.

Matt and I are so lucky to have such wonderful friends and family to help us with this battle. We will continue on living our lives as normal as we can with hopes that the girls continue to grow and learn without too many distractions. I plan on working through chemotherapy as much as I can. Hopefully the side effects won’t keep me down too long and I can still enjoy my time with my family.

This entry was posted in Cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Diagnosis

  1. Melissa Sansale says:

    I love you so much Colleen! Hang in there & kick cancers butt! 😘🙏🏻🙏🏻🙏🏻

  2. Danielle Hernandez says:

    Many prayers your way as we all fight this battle with you. You my friend are not alone. Please let me know how I can help. I am a cancer survivor and I am fighting this battle with you!! Keep us updated and I will check back often…if there is anything we can do ASK!! Danielle, Juan, and Mateo

  3. Miranda says:

    Thank you for sharing. I love your outlook on this situation. God will always take care of you and your family. I will be thinking of you often.

  4. Shannon says:

    Strength in faith, family and friends! I am praying for you everyday. If there is anything at all that I can do… Pleeeease let me know! Much love C!

Leave a Reply

