Like Mother Like Daughter

My whole goal when I was a teenager was to be a cooler and better mom than my mom.  I was one of the worst kids in the whole world and I honestly don’t know why my parents didn’t drive to the middle of nowhere and leave me for dead.  I totally would have.  When I was in high school I thought I knew everything and that I should be able to do whatever whenever I wanted too and I did most of the time.  I won’t go into detail of what I put my parents through but it was awful and I apologize to them every chance I can to this day.

So I now find myself doing things just like my parents, especially my mother.  Although I didn’t agree with them at the time, I now realize that they raised us a certain way to mold us into the people we are today.  Now that I have two little girls I have already decided that they aren’t allowed to date, stay out late, or do anything remotely dangerous!  You think I’m kidding.  I have turned into my mother and I love it.

I find myself doing the same things she does all the time.  For example, I have our kitchen drawers organized like she does.  I even find myself putting votive candles in the dish towel drawer just like my mother.  It is those little things that I am noticing all the time and I’m sure my dad and other family members can point out a million other things.  I fought so hard not be like her as a teenager and now that I’m an adult, I want to be just like her.

This entry was posted in Children, Love, My Family, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

