Super Mom, kinda but not really

I don’t think I was fully prepared to be a wife, mother of 2 girls under the age of 2, and a full-time employee.  How do people do this!  After being off work for 12 weeks, I finally went back to work on Monday and realized what I had been missing was not worth missing.  The first day back it seems that I scared off the replacement we hired to help while I was gone.  She literally went to lunch and never came back, leaving me with a full afternoon of patients, one doctor, and new office software I had never touched.  Stupid girl.  Why bother even coming in on a Monday morning if you plan to go to lunch and not come back?  The day went fine though, mostly because I’m freaking awesome.  I would like to find the little twit and tell her thanks for setting me back on taking a new position.  Now I have to find and train the next person which is going to take forever.

Everyday is battle for me lately.  Basically a battle not to open a bottle of two buck chuck when I walk in the door from work.  I know I can’t be the only one that feels that way.  My oldest girl is so great with the new baby which actually surprised the hell out of me.  She basically just tickles her fingers and feet, kisses her hand, and tells me to put her down. She has her little meltdowns though when I’m holding Reese or feeding Reese.  Exhausting some nights. All I’m thinking about while I type this is a bottle of wine.

Hopefully all this exhaustion will pass.  I pray that it will at least.  Between the dishes, laundry, and the attempts at sleep I feel like a failure some nights.  Wendy’s counts as dinner, right?  I even found myself flipping off my 22 month old as she ran away from me the other day.  Okay, I know what your thinking but her back was turned and that was me getting my frustration out.  I realize that I’m not winning Mother of the Year 2012 but maybe next year.

This entry was posted in Babies, Careers, Children, Humor, My Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super Mom, kinda but not really

  1. Kelly says:

    Lol!!! I love your honesty Colleen. I don’t have kids yet, but I’m pretty sure when I do my thoughts will be somewhere in the same neighborhood as yours for sure! Miss ya girl.

  2. Miranda says:

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! I know you are a great mother! (the flipping off part is pretty funny)

Leave a Reply

