It’s A Girl! Again.

So we found out a couple of weeks ago that we will be blessed with another baby girl in late summer.  Very excited.  It is amazing how many people come up to me and ask me if I’m upset that it is another girl and not a boy (it’s usually the people without children).  I couldn’t be any happier! All we wanted was a healthy baby, boy or girl.   How neat is it going to be that our two daughters will be a little less than two years apart.  I don’t have to go out and buy clothes at all.   Hopefully, they will be great friends throughout their entire lives.  My sister is five years older than me and we didn’t even like each other until we were in our twenties.  I guess every family dynamic is different but I would have loved a sister that was so close to my age growing up.

I’m not sure how Maggie is going to deal with bringing a new baby into this house but I’m sure it will just take time to adjust.  She will be around 20 months when little sister arrives, prime toddler age.  Maggie basically rules this family nowadays so a throwing someone new into the mix might set things off.  I guess I’m not that scared of a newborn coming, I’m scared of having a toddler and a newborn in the same house alone with me, with no help.  The demands of a newborn are to be expected, not so much with a toddler.  Everyday is a surprise with a 16 month old these days, very emotional some days and then we have our crazy go, go, go days.  It is exhausting just thinking about it and it makes me want to cry as well.

The plan is to just get prepared now.  I have around 4 months until our new arrival makes her debut.  I can only pray that she is as easy as Maggie was when she was a newborn (I can hope can’t I).  Nursery will be done in the next couple weeks, supplies will be bought and put away, and the BIG house chores will be done.  When I say “big house chores” I mean all the crap I have told my husband to get done before baby #2 comes, get done.  Then we attempt to prepare a 20 month old for a baby sister.  Is that really possible?  We will just have to wait and see.

This entry was posted in Children, Love, My Family, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

