It’s All in a Name

So with the new addition coming I can’t help to start think of baby names. My question is, what is the proper etiquette on naming your child the same name as an acquaintance?  Maybe not a friend that you speak to on a regular basis,  but someone who you know through friends and run into occasionally.  I don’t want my child to have a name that have their classmates are going to have so I have to go out side the box a little.  I am too scared to name my child something super trendy because of a fear of them being made fun of but I also don’t want them to have 4 friends with the same name.  My friends brother and sister in-law named their little girl such a beautiful name and I want to steal it so  bad but I feel like that is a big no-no.

I guess I can’t get my heart set on anything quite yet, it still needs to be approved by the husband and lord knows how hard that is going to be.  Trying to decide on a name for Maggie was hard because you go through every girls name and have an option based on your husband’s ex-girlfriends, girls you grew up with, and your relatives.  I’m not sure how guys pick names but girls will hate a name just based on the fact that they knew someone by that name and they were a whore or a bitch.  At least that’s how I do it. For instance, I hate the name Vanessa.  I think it’s trashy based on a person I knew with that name.  How bad is that?  I don’t like a lot of people so I have a lot of names crossed out. I hope to god that I am not the only person who thinks this way.

This entry was posted in Children, My Family, Pregnancy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

