The Never-Ending Fixer Upper

So my husband and I bought our house about 3 years ago with the full intention of fixing it up room by room.  It sounds so easy doesn’t it.  I’ll tell you one thing, it would be a whole lot easier if we had endless money to do it with.  My parents always told me, “it doesn’t have to be done all at once”.  It doesn’t, but I want it to be.  The house we bought sat empty for 2 years because the man who owned it bought it for his wife without showing it to her first and she said her furniture wouldn’t go with the house.  I’ll tell you one thing, no furniture would have gone with the house.  The house was full of wood paneling and wallpaper.  I like wallpaper when it is more modern but the stuff that was all over our house was horrible.  Example:  Hall bathroom had pink tiles, wall and floor, with green and red striped wallpaper.  Awesome.  Oh, and had an old oriental rug cut up to look like they had carpeted over the pink tile floor.  Seriously.

The first thing we did was prime and paint the kitchen cabinets and scrape all the wallpaper off in the entire house.  It was in every room just about.

note to self: never buy a house with wallpaper in it, not even in a closet.

It has slowly come together over the past couple of years and is very livable now.  We haven’t even touched the basement yet but we haven’t had a reason to until we had Maggie.

My problem is that I change my mind on how I want to style the place every couple of months.  We haven’t really bought any furniture besides a couch and a coffee table so far.  My goal in the next couple months is to get rid of the older furniture and start making the right furniture choices for us.  Another problem is that everything I tend to like it’s not so kid-friendly and every thing my husband likes is too comfortable.  When I say comfortable I mean puffy and reclining.  Not in my house.

When we moved into the house we traded the soft-padded hot tub for a dining room table.  Great trade but the dining room table is so not my style and the chairs weigh as much as I do.  Craigslist is going to have some new posting come this spring and my house is going to be very empty.  This will be a hard task, especially if I don’t plan on telling my husband until the furniture magically disappears.

I have secretly picked out the furniture I want for the living room and I know my husband won’t like it.  Another little problem we have is that we have 2 medium-sized living rooms.  I think we are going to have to have a grown up room and a children’s room.  Now the big question, how do I make a room child-friendly without it screaming kindergarten class room.  i think I will enlist the talents of my friend KB on this project.  She has the best sense of style and fashion, practical but nothing too over the top or trendy.  I like to call her classy all the way around.

I will post pictures throughout the makeover process.  Hopefully things will go well on convincing my husband that I know what I am doing.  I can just seeing him now, shaking his head and telling me that I’m going to change my mind a million times before I will make a permanent decision.

This entry was posted in Home Improvement, Marriage, My Family, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

