Another Valentines Day

Maybe it is just me but I think Valentine’s Day is a joke.  I think Flag Day is a much better holiday (wait until my post on Flag Day).  According to Wikipedia:

Saint Valentine’s Day, commonly shortened to Valentine’s Day,[1][2][3] is an annual commemoration held on February 14 celebrating love and affection between intimate companions.[1][3] The day is named after one or more early Christian martyrs, Saint Valentine, and was established by Pope Gelasius I in 496 AD. It was deleted from the Roman calendar of saints in 1969 by Pope Paul VI. It is traditionally a day on which lovers express their love for each other by presenting flowers, offering confectionery, and sending greeting cards (known as “valentines“). The day first became associated with romantic love in the circle of Geoffrey Chaucer in the High Middle Ages, when the tradition of courtly love flourished.

Modern Valentine’s Day symbols include the heart-shaped outline, doves, and the figure of the winged Cupid. Since the 19th century, handwritten valentines have given way to mass-produced greeting cards.

I believe that I express my love and affection towards my husband everyday of the year.  Maybe not everyday, but you know what I mean.  Many women expect the most romantic day ever from their spouse, flowers, chocolate, and a fancy dinner.  For some reason a busy restaurant doesn’t sound very romantic to me and the fact that flowers die in a week seems like a huge waste of money to me.  I think it is romantic if my husband would surprise me with a nice dinner out on a random Tuesday is a little cozy restaurant.

This year my Valentine’s Day was spent at work surfing the internet and Facebook.  Every other post from the ladies on Facebook were the pictures of the dozen roses that their boyfriend or husband had sent.  Gross.  I like flowers in my garden, that is about it.  My husband has bought many of dozens of flowers in the past and I told him this year that I did not want flowers at all.  Do you know what I could buy with $100?  First things first, formula for our 12 week old daughter.  After work I came home to spend my evening with my little Valentine Maggie.

My Little Valentine
My Little Valentine

We watched The Bachelor and then the horrible K-State and KU basketball game.  I believe I was in bed by 10:00pm that night.  My husband went bowling that evening and then stopped by the bar to watch the game with some friends.

The point I am trying to get at is that I don’t need him to get me a dozen roses or take me out on the busiest night of the year to an expensive restaurant to show me that he loves me.  I know he loves me by the way he tells me and shows me everyday of our lives.

This entry was posted in Holidays, Humor, Marriage, My Family, Random and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

