What do I want to be when I grow up?

Our little Maggie is 2 weeks old today.  Wow.  All I have done in the past couple of weeks is stare at the most beautiful little girl EVER.  I know everyone says that about their child but my husband and I made one good-looking kid.

As I sit around and stare at this little wonder, all I can think about is how am I going to go back to work.  I wish that we were lucky enough to survive on only my husbands income but that is not in the cards for us.  If we pinched our pennies every month I’m sure we could make it work with one income.  The drawbacks of that would be my husband working his ass off year round and he wouldn’t have the time or energy for his family.  So I am now in search of the not only the perfect job but a career.

So I am a 28-year-old with no college degree.  I get so embarrassed when I say that but it is the truth.  How can I still not know what I want to do when I grow up!  So many of my friends have these wonderful jobs that they have dreamed about and on the other hand, I have many friends going back to school to change careers.  I have looked into going back to school but for what.  Nursing sounds like a great career but the sight of blood and needles is disgusting.  I have looked into cosmetology but how can I go to school full-time with no income to pay for school.  Sales is out of the question, been there done that.  I cannot sell someone a product or service I don’t believe in.  Why can’t I find something that I absolutely love and that pays well?  I guess I have to find what I love to do before that job comes along.

So what do I do now.  I just received a job offer last week that could be promising but it could cause problems down the road.  The job is an events coordinator position and it also is a personal assistant position. The personal assistant part is what I have a problem with.  How can someone not be able to do certain things for themselves. I will end that rant here and now.  I know that I could do the events coordinator job with no problem.  The events sound like fun but my life also revolves around my husbands schedule.  As a firefighter, he works 24 hours on and 48 hours off. So, I have to be able to get our little nugget to daycare in the morning and picked up by 5:30pm every weekday.  With all the events and personal assisting that is needed for that job, late hours and weekends will be required.  Another reason I worry about this job is that I work with this company on a charity event once a year and do not want to ruin the relationship that we have built over the last 5 years.  What to do, what to do.

So I basically need a 9 to 5 job that pays well, has reasonable vacation time, and is in Kansas (I would love something close to my house).   Any suggestions would be lovely.

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

