The beginning…

First things first, I am not a writer nor do I want to be.  I decided to start a blog to share my experiences as a first time mother.  My husband and I are expecting our first child in less than two weeks and we are super excited.  It has been a life long dream of both of ours to get married and start a family, and that is exactly what is happening.  Pregnancy was one part of the plan that didn’t fit the picture I had in my mind.  I know I shouldn’t complain because I have had the best pregnancy EVER, so far.  No morning sickness, no huge weight gain, and the baby seems to be cooking right along.

Ever since I found out I was pregnant it seems like my social life has taken a dramatic turn.  My husband and I have always been social people, happy hour after work, parties, and bars on the weekends to watch whatever game was on.  All those things stopped for me after I found out I was with child.  I know that there are plenty of women that can go out to social events are be just fine not drinking, but I found it very annoying.  I guess the first couple of months weren’t that bad but once I started feeling pregnant it was the worst thing ever.  It seemed that friends just stopped calling or inviting me places because I was pregnant. Pregnancy has been very lonely.  I felt like I couldn’t go out with my friends and have a good time without having drinks. I still feel that way.  Don’t get me wrong,  I have the best friends ever but being the only sober one in the bunch can get old.

As of today I have one week and three days until my due date, the day before Thanksgiving.  I am convinced our little nugget is going to be a month late.  My doctor visits have been unexciting and quite boring.  I go in, pee, wait 1-2 hours for the doctor, she checks my blood pressure, and listens to the heart beat.  She has told me that the baby will come when she is ready, could be in the next couple days or in a couple of weeks.  In the mean time, I walk around with a head in the pelvis. Awesome.  I am very grateful that our little one seems to be in good health and we have had such an easy pregnancy but I need a date when she will be here (we have been told we are having a girl, I’m not convinced).  I am a planner and have a lack of patience.

I have taken off work and am going to try to relax this next week before I really start going crazy when my due date passes and she hasn’t arrived.  I will also try to find this thing they call “patience”.

This entry was posted in My Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

